OOMAAAIGAWD!! I AM IN FINAL YEAR!! (Part Two)

A few days back, I was walking back with Umashankar… For the uninitiated, we have been classmates since 8th standard, with a common interest in mathematics and disdain towards Sanskrit, Biology and those girls(and Twister) who used to top in all the innumerable monthly tests, drawing us together. Anyway, I was walking back with Umashankar from lab to the hostel, after the mandatory midnight “konjum-strong-coffee” at Tifanys and invariably the topic of school came up.

It is interesting to note that there exists a finite set of “incidents” which have happened at school and everytime we meet, we laugh our asses off, remembering them. Everytime it is the same set of incidents. Narrated in the same style. Still it somehow seems to be funny. Always. I can recite these incidents while sleeping or dangling from a helicopter or facing a gun or all the three simultaneously and still laugh like a maniac. Let me recount one of them. We had to submit a “letter to father” in Kannada as a homework assignment. You know those fake letters in a format which no one uses. Respected-Father-How-are-you?-I-am-doing-well-How-is-mother?-Convey-my-regards-blah-blah-blah. Mundane, uninteresting stuff. My school used to start at 11:30 AM. So, I used to leave my house at 9:30 and reach school by 9:45. One of the muggu junta would turn up around 10. I, shamelessly copied the homework till the classes started. Considering that 90% of the class were copying the notes which other 10% wrote, it was a very efficient process and by the time class started everyone was done with the homework. Perfectly co-operative game. But, these things had its own drawbacks. On this particular occassion, I took the book and copied down the letter-to-father “makki-ka-makki” style. Lots of people copied from the same book. We all go smiling to the class and submit it. Next day, the teacher storms into the class seething with anger and asks, “How many kids has this…this Garudadwajan fathered? Apparently 40 out of you, 50 idiots.”

Oh, the way we laughed. I am surprised the roof didn’t fall on us that day. I miss it. I wonder how many of these incidents, I can take away from my past five years here. Quite a few, I think. An addition to these finite set of “incidents” happened two days ago. πŸ™‚

13 thoughts on “OOMAAAIGAWD!! I AM IN FINAL YEAR!! (Part Two)

  1. Vasuki says:

    So the next part is gonna be the incident which is an addition to the finite set of incidents? And hence this cliffhanger ending? πŸ˜›

  2. Akshatha says:

    Killer stuff! πŸ˜€
    Oh I remember those letters too. Last question in every exam. A friend’s Sanskrit paper demanded his dad to sponsor the ‘school trip to Iceland’. :))

  3. AKILA says:

    Samaaaadhi, I laughed my head off imaginging you dangling from a helicopter and laughing away to glory. πŸ˜€

  4. AKILA says:

    Please! Atleast people are laughing some time while reading your blog. I get blank is-this-supposed-to-be-funny looks from people in response to my attempts at humour. Maybe I should get some advice from Puranik on dealing with strained reactions to brilliant humour. (Colon P)

    • is-this-supposed-to-be-funny looks from people

      Dude, I always get them. In the new post for instance, I have had comments which completely miss the humour and dismiss the ideas as ridiculous and question my sanity. :-/

      We need to learn a lot from Kashyap Puranik. The dignified way in which he carries himself. Role model, he is. πŸ™‚

  5. kashthealien says:

    OOMAAAIGAWD! My name? My sarcasm detectors are messed up :-/

  6. kashthealien says:

    http://sarkashtica.blogspot.com/2011/12/art-of-snoring.html You won’t talk about me being dignified after reading this.

  7. Asma says:

    Really funny story πŸ˜€
    You have great style of story-telling. Keep up the good work πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

